You are here

Deosaran, Daaga top national awardees

Saturday, August 31, 2013

Ambassador Makandal Daaga and criminologist Prof Ramesh Deosaran will receive the country's highest honour, the Order of the Republic of T&T, at today’s National Independence Award Ceremony at the Southern Academy for the Performing Arts in San Fernando. They join Chief Justice Ivor Archie as recipients of the award for distinguished and outstanding service to the country. Archie received his honour earlier in the week.


Daaga will receive the honour for work in the sphere of national service, while Deosaran will receive his for his contribution to academics and national service. Daaga was the leader of the 1970 black power movement, the founder of the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC) and is now the cultural ambassador to Caricom. Deosaran has served as a former independent senator and currently serves as chairman of the Police Service Commission. 


Recent World Championship gold medal winner Jehue Gordon is also among those receiving some of the country’s highest honours for contributions to the fields of medicine, sport, religion, law, music, gallantry, culture, national and community service, education, public service among others. Gordon has been awarded a Chaconia Medal (Gold) for his recent success at the IAAF World Track and Field Championships in Moscow, Russia. However, he is currently out of the country.


The relatives of slain police officer Hayden Manwaring will, posthumously, receive on his behalf the Humming Bird Medal (Bronze.) The Humming Bird Medal is awarded for loyal and devoted service in any field or for gallantry. Morvant resident John Julien, who discovered “miracle baby” Destiny on July 25 gagged and in a dumpster in Malick, will also be awarded the Humming Bird Medal (Bronze). 



Cousins Ganesh and Shiv Bansraj, who saved Rolly Bhagwansingh after his car plunged into the Guayamare River on August 15, will also be awarded the Humming Bird bronze. Journalist and historian Louis B Homer, who died last week, and his colleague Theron Boodan were also awarded the Humming Bird Medal (Gold). A number of religious leaders featured among those honoured, with representatives of the Christian, Hindu and Orisha faiths on the list. 


Among those receiving the Chaconia Medal (Gold) are the Rt Rev Claude Berkley, Bishop of T&T and head of the Anglican Diocese; senior Orisha priestess Valerie Stephenson Lee Chee,  and Pundit Utham Maharaj, Dharmacharya of T&T. A Chaconia Medal (Silver) went to the Rev Cecil Quamina, a senior pastor. The Chaconia Medal is awarded for long and meritorious service tending to promote the national welfare or strengthen the community spirit. 


Additionally, Pundit Indrani Rampersad received a Medal for the Development of Women (Gold), as did Affieza Ogeer, president of the ASJA Ladies’ Association. 



Full list of national awardees

Order of the Republic of T&T
Cultural Ambassador Makandal Daaga (national service)
Prof Ramesh Deosaran (academics and national service)
Chief Justice Ivor Archie (law).



Chaconia Medal, gold 

Appeal Court Judge Wendell Kangaloo (posthumous)
Retired Justices Shafeyei Shah and Appeal Court judge Margot Warner

The Rt Rev Claude Berkley, Bishop of T&T and head of the Anglican Diocese
Senior Orisha priestess Valerie Stephenson Lee Chee    
Pundit Utham Maharaj, Dharmacharya of T&T    



Jehue Gordon 

Pamela Nicholson, retired educator and politician (public service)        
John Humphrey, former politician and legislator (public and community service) 



Chaconia Medal Silver
Dr David Garth Toby  (medicine)
Rev Cecil Quamina, senior pastor (religion)



Humming Bird Medal Gold
Journalists Louis B Homer (posthumously)
Theron Boodan

Lynette “Granny” Luces, athlete (sport)
Musicians Shivannand Maharaj and Earl Knight        

Attorney Ramesh Persad-Maharaj (law and religion) 
Businessmen George Janoura and Shaheed Mohammed    



Humming Bird Medal Silver 
Businessman Harbance Seejattan    
Ramragee Prabhoo, artiste (culture)
Trade unionist John Jaglal (labour)


Humming Bird Medal Bronze
Martial arts instructor David Anthony Chin Leung (sport)
For gallantry:
Police officer Hayden Dale Manwaring (posthumously) 
Labourer Shiv Bansraj    
Construction worker Ganesh Bansraj
Painter John Julien        

Retired police officer Hubert Peter “Flagman” Diaz (national service)    
Kiwanis Club of St Helena (community  service)


Public Service Medal of Merit, Gold
Dr Steve Ravindra Budhooram  (medicine)
Retired Permanent Secretary  Roopdial Ramnarine
Media productions specialist Roy Rique            
Attorney at law Deo Bhagowtee    
Retired principal  Michael Samuel (education)
Retired Commissioner of Valuations Ronald Heeralal    



Public Service Medal of Merit, Silver
Retired public servants  Sita Dalkan-Pragg and Johnny Ramdular        



Medal for the Development of Women, Gold
Pundit Dr Indrani Rampersad (religion and community service)
Public servant Aileen Clarke (national service) 
Affieza Ogeer, president of the ASJA Ladies’ Association (community 


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.